Christmas Worries Over Nothing

image

Ok I admit it. I LOVE Christmas but this year I was kind of dreading our family Christmas gathering.

It’s hard being the only single in your family that’s over the age of 4, and usually it gets noticed and sadly pointed out. I was dreading the usual questions as all my cousins and sister cuddled up to their partners/ husbands and asked whether I’m currently seeing anyone and the inevitable looks of pity when I say I’m not. I was mentally preparing myself for the match-making conversation that would of course follow this realisation as I have heard it all before and HATE being set up.

I know people mean well when they go through all their semi-decent single friends lists and think about who would be good for me, but really it just makes me feel like they think being single is some disease they need to cure me of. It’s not a disease and I am more than capable to finding a date myself.

This year was different though. Nobody mentioned my state of singleness. Huzzah! Perhaps it’s due to the fact my sister and one of my cousins recently tried to go there within the last few weeks and knew I was not keen on being set up. It’s possible they told the others not to go there on Christmas or maybe…just maybe….people are starting to work out that when a single is with a group of couples they don’t generally like to discuss it and if they want to it should be them themselves and ONLY them themselves that should bring it up. So yay family! Thank you for not putting me in that position this Christmas.

Another good thing this Christmas, which is probably going to make me sound like a horrible person, is that a few of us were currently unemployed or as I’d prefer to say ‘between jobs’.

Now I wish everyone well, and am not happy when things are going badly for other people, but we all had a good sense of humour about it and it’s nice when there are a few of you in the same boat as no one feels like the failure of the group. We all know this is a temporary state of being ( all recently unemployed so for now we are enjoying the time off) and we will all get jobs next year * fingers crossed for permanent ones.* I think it’s just human nature like to know other are in the same or similar situations as you. We even had a toast to unemployment lol

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and if you were single or unemployed or both this Christmas I hope the people around you didn’t bring unwanted attention to it ❤️

So to all the single unemployed people this holiday season “Cheers”

 

 

4 thoughts on “Christmas Worries Over Nothing

  1. Haha, you wouldn’t be out of place in my family. All my cousins are in the their late teens/twenties and none of the seven of us are seeing anyone. Glad it didn’t get you down this Christmas though. Seasons greetings.

    Like

  2. I’m so happy to hear that your Christmas ended up joyful. I love a happy ending. My Christmas was not so great this year. My parents are out of the country and my sister has decided to spend the holidays with her boyfriend. So I was all alone. At least I didn’t have to worry about cleaning the house for company! 🙂

    Like

    1. Sorry to hear you didn’t have the best Christmas this year. I hope you were able to spend some time with family and/ or friends either before or after the event ( sometimes pre/ post Christmas get togethers surpass the actual day anyway ). You’re not wrong about the cleaning up part! Even worse when people leave. Our dishwasher decided to break down on Christmas Eve so after everyone left on Christmas Day mum and I spent a LONG time doing dishes.

      Like

Leave a Reply

