The Ongoing Saga of Finding a Permanent Job.

JobSites.Feat_1

When I chose to do a degree in Primary Education I thought I was making a safe choice. I thought to myself ‘this is one career where I am sure to secure a job as society needs teachers and plenty of full time jobs will become available soon as all the old teachers are going to retire soon’.

Well, fast forward eight years and three teaching based degrees later and I still haven’t had a permanent job. Ironically I should have probably pursued my to other choices of acting or palaeontology but I decided not to go in that direction as those jobs are hard to come by, and teaching is a “sure thing”.

Now I’ve always had work as a casual or temporary teacher, so it hasn’t been a complete disaster but after applying for over 100 jobs ( I use to count my applications, but I stopped counting when close to 100 as it got a little depressing) one does get a little disheartened. I have had one-to-one sessions with various deputy principals and attended webinars on how to write good teaching applications, so I know it’s not a case of writing bad resumes it’s just really hard to get a permeant job in primary teaching unless you are targeted straight out of university, are male (most of my male friends never had to apply for a job they were just offered positions) or know someone. I’m not saying it CAN’T be done; I’m just saying it’s bloody hard and if you secure one of these jobs that’s amazing, and you should be very thankful.

Lately, I’ve been wondering if it’s time to throw in the towel on teaching. My experience of teaching hasn’t been the best. I’ve worked mostly in the more difficult schools (low social economic areas) and as I’ve been mainly a casual or temp I haven’t been treated very well. Do you remember how your class treated the casual teacher when your teacher was away? There are exceptions but for the most part, casual teachers get “special” treatment from the students and not in a good way. I’m not saying I can’t handle it, I’ve handled it for eight years, but it’s exhausting being tested by the students day in day out. Respect is not very high these days unfortunately.

My temp blocks have been a blessing as it means constant work for a while, but most of these have happened towards the end of the year or in a part-time or RFF (relief from face-to-face) capacity which means I get a lot of “your not my real teacher” attitudes. I would love to be the teacher starting day one term 1 for a change so I can establish more of a rapport with the students, make the class rules together and not constantly be told off by students about doing things differently from their previous teacher.

Now before anyone says anything I have done every behaviour management strategy in the book (I’ve even bought and read an actual book on it). I try to be positive and constantly reinforce positive behaviour, but I’m getting tired of it all being about the discipline as I became a teacher to teach. If I wanted it to all be about the discipline, I would have become an army drill sergeant.

I’m not down on kids (although I may sound like it from the above). I always try to find something about each child I like and often they are all quite nice as individuals.I have had the privilege to work with some genuinely incredible kids and I know deep down I have made a positive impact on many lives ( or at least that is my sincere hope). It’s just that showing off pack mentality that upsets me and not caring about the awards or punishments.

So I’ve made the decision to apply for a few more teaching positions that appeal to me until the end of the year and if I don’t get any of these positions I’m leaving the profession. I really thought I’d have permeant work by 30 but unless that mythical job presents itself in the next four months that’s not going to happen. I think that if teaching was what God wanted me to do, I’d be doing it now. Maybe I’m meant to go down a different path.

I am always genuinely happy for my friends successes but at the risk of sounding petty I do wonder ‘is it my turn yet?’ It seems I’m still on square one of my career while others are getting promotions in their respective careers. I’ve tried so hard. I thought teaching in the outback would help but although it was a valuable life experience it hasn’t helped me secure that job. I thought doing the extra TESOL certificate would help but although it helped me get a few temp jobs I still am in want of permanency. I’m just sick of having no security.

Who knows? If I either by some miracle get one of the teaching jobs I’ve applied for I might have a job before 30, but I feel that’s very unlikely. Maybe I will get a permanent job in a completely different field before that dreaded age? Not all hope is lost!

Keep your fingers and toes crossed for me please.

 

7 thoughts on “The Ongoing Saga of Finding a Permanent Job.

  1. Hi there, I saw your post on Community Pool and thought I’d check out your blog. Your writing style is very nice and personal, and in terms of whether the subject matter is interesting…yes it is. At least to me, a 22 year old woman who is currently putting the same expectations on herself e.g. job, husband, family. I think pre-30 freakouts are unfortunately very common; I find large amounts of chocolate and Netflix boxsets help me out. Reading your blog, I could relate to a lot. Check out my own blog if you have time, detailing my attitude to certain aspects of life as a nervy person; https://clskellern.wordpress.com/

    Like

    1. Thank you very much for reading and for the feedback. I will most certainly check out your blog tomorrow (I’m about to go to bed now). I’m a bit of an nervy/ anxious person myself so I’m sure I’ll relate.
      I agree, chocolate and good movies are always helpful to get ones mind off things and relax 😄

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I just discovered your blog on the community pool and I am glad I did. I used to be a high school math teacher. I find your blog very interesting and well written. I wish I could give you some advice, but I am currently unemployed so you are doing better than me 🙂 It’s especially hard when everyone around you is a success. The trick I guess is to try and stay positive.

        Like

      2. Thanks for reading. Sounds like we are in the same boat more or less. Interesting that you were a teacher too; teaching is a tough gig. Yes I agree staying positive is key 😄 I hope a new and better job comes your way too!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi there,
    I saw your post on community pool and I am a 24 year old female and in my final year of psychology and criminology. I share the anxiety of landing a job after I graduate in mental health or working with young offenders and it is terrifying when it has been such a struggle to find work experience or even voluntary stuff. I relate to the need for security and all the items on your pre- 30 list I believe many women share. I think your blog is interesting so keep writing! The only thing I would say is I found it hard to find the comment button but that’s proabbly because it’s a very different layout to my own blog.

    Just to say that you shouldn’t feel disheartened about teaching or changing your career. It’s amazing that you’ve done it for so long and you should follow your gut instinct. What is it you want to do if you could do anything right now? It’s all possible for 2016!
    You will find somebody… everyone has someone out there you just need to keep faith.I’ve only just met someone after a very difficult breakup that changed my life almost 5 years ago and I never thought I would!

    Have a lovely Christmas
    x

    Like

    1. Hi thanks for reading my blog. Hope you have a lovely Christmas too. Mine was pretty good 😀
      Thanks for your kind words I do hope I find someone, it’s sometimes hard to believe that when at 29 my longest relationship was 3 months long but there is always hope!
      Glad you’ve found someone after a difficult breakup. I hope you get a great job when you finish uni! It is so true that many women do seem to worry about this silly checklist!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

